The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending temporary protected status (TPS) for U.S. residents from Sudan, El Salvador, Haiti and Nicaragua, as President Trump’s orders to reduce the program languish in court.

By Rafael Bernal

DHS filed a notice Thursday extending TPS designations for the four countries until Jan. 2, 2020, and the notice will officially be published in the Federal Register on Friday.

Under TPS, citizens of certain countries that have undergone natural or man-made disasters are allowed to live and work in the United States while their home nations recover.

In some cases, TPS holders have been in the United States for over two decades, with more or less automatic renewals of their status every 18 months.

The Trump administration sought to scale down TPS by withholding renewals of country designations, effectively forcing beneficiaries to either find a new immigration status or leave the country.

Continue reading on the source site by clicking here. 

Connect with us to build a partnership

Join our the partenr mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team and start the journey as a partner.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This